FIRST LOOK

LA Times Massive 2009 Preview - Plus 12 New Photos

by
January 11, 2009
Source: LA Times

Avatar - Los Angeles Times

Similar to Entertainment Weekly's 2009 First Look, the LA Times has launched their own 2009 preview, featuring an extensive look at 67 movies due out this year. While you're more than welcome to read through their preview movie-by-movie, we pulled 12 new never-before-seen photos for a few movies that you might know and a few movies that you might not. We've already seen photos for most of the big movies, so these below aren't exactly for all the heavy hitters. Included within are previews for: 12 Rounds, Observe and Report, 2012, Funny People, Pandorum, Where the Wild Things Are, Avatar, and others.

Give or take this first preview on the right just below, all of the following films are organized by their release date, from earliest to latest. There's quite a few new photos, so take a good look. Movie details can be found above each photo (not below). To see the full preview of all 67 movies - click right here!

Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li - Devastated by the kidnapping of her father, a girl takes to the streets of Hong Kong, embarking on an epic quest for justice. In theaters February 27th.

I Love You, Beth Cooper - A nerdy valedictorian proclaims his love for the hottest and most popular girl in school during his graduation speech. In theaters July 10th.

Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-LiI Love You, Beth Cooper

12 Rounds - After escaping from prison, a criminal mastermind enacts his revenge on the cop that accidentally killed his girlfriend, using a series of near-impossible puzzles and tasks. In theaters March 27th.

12 Rounds

Observe and Report - A mall cop with dreams of entering the police academy is put to the test when the mall is struck by a flasher. In theaters April 10th.

Observe and Report

The Goods - A man and his ragtag crew find unexpected love when they descend on a town to help save an ailing car dealership from bankruptcy. In theaters April 24th.

The Goods

2012 - A global cataclysm brings an end to the world, forcing a heroic struggle on the survivors. In theaters July 10th.

2012

Funny People - Adam Sandler stars in this story of a famous comedian who has a near-death experience. In theaters July 31st.

Funny People

Pandorum - Stranded on a spacecraft, two astronauts awaken from a hyper-sleep and realize they are not alone. In theaters September 4th.

Pandorum

Where the Wild Things Are - Director Spike Jonze brings Maurice Sendak’s classic tale of adventure to the big screen. In theaters October 16th.

Where the Wild Things Are

Old Dogs - Two friends are unexpectedly charged with the care of 6-year-old twins while on the verge of the biggest business deal of their lives. In theaters November 25th.

Old Dogs

Avatar - An Avatar, a human mind in an alien body, finds himself torn between two worlds, in a desperate fight for his own survival and that of the indigenous people. In theaters December 18th.

Avatar

The Princess and the Frog - A hand-drawn animated musical with a modern twist on the classic tale. In theaters December 25th.

The Princess and the Frog

Yet another solid look at what's coming up in 2009 with some great first look photo debuts. Is there anything that really interested you from our picks this time? Or are all the movies you're looking forward to not on here? Does it already look like 2009 will be another great year for movies or not? Thoughts?

Find more posts: First Look, Hype, Photos

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 25 Comments

1

Avatar is THE movie of 2009, will be a game changer. I really believe in 3D, just waiting for a 3D-enabled cinema here in my town.

Martin on Jan 11, 2009

2

Avatar is December? Jesus Christ, i thought it was summer. The movie is gonna have like what, a year and a half of post production? Hope it's amazing, if it's just good, it will be a "failure". In comparison to the amount of work put into it.

Darunia on Jan 11, 2009

3

Pandorum seems interesting...

KyB on Jan 11, 2009

4

Observe and Report? Another WWE film production? I think I smell Oscar! Hope audiences enjoy the film equivalent of explosive diarrhea. Although, that John Cena is a multi-layered talent. This should appeal to the Coors light, Hill Billy, glue sniffing crowd. p.s. Thanks to WWE and Hollywood for continuing their never ending war against high standards and excellence!!!

Chilli Cheese Man on Jan 11, 2009

5

Observe and Report has a great cast (Seth Rogen, PATTON OSWALT!) and could work out. Not everything can be all "Woodchuck Ale."

MCab on Jan 11, 2009

6

I just cannot wait for Where the Wild Things Are

Trystan on Jan 11, 2009

7

john cena in a next movie. marine 2 lol.

darrin on Jan 11, 2009

8

2012 seems interesting..and a few others. Thanks for sending this list, man.

Bry from Chi on Jan 11, 2009

9

Regarding that picture for Funny People, it seems kinda odd that Rogen is taller than Sandler considering Sandler is playing someone a lot more famous that Rogen. But, of course, the movie is supposed to be mostly true to life, in which case fame doesn't mean you're taller than the other guy.

Jay Beezy on Jan 11, 2009

10

Sandler is 5'10 and Rogen is 6'0 according to IMDB, so he is a bit taller than him,but I don't see why that would affect the movie. As for 12 Rounds I really can't say much about it at this point. Renny Harlin is an alright director, but he has been making alot of shitty movies since after Cliffhanger and really needs to get back on the ball and make atleast a decent action movie. With a premise this simple including with a amusing action hero (Cena) I don't see how he could screw this up so badly. Peace Out !

wrongturn on Jan 11, 2009

11

The delay to Avatar is Cameron's wish for as many cinemas possible to get 3D digital projection installed.

John J on Jan 11, 2009

12

ok #4, its 12 rounds that a wwe is working on, not Obserev & Report. Gonna bag on a movie, make sure u get it right!

Shorgin on Jan 11, 2009

13

I'd rather Avatar takes as long as it needs to get it right than trying to make a deadline. I just wish a teaser poster or something would come out. Even the slightest hint of what we might see, but I think Cameron wants to put a trailer out to blow our faces off. Other than, really really excited for WTWTA.

Fuelbot on Jan 11, 2009

14

Can't wait for Observe and Report, Avatar, and Where the Wild Things Are?

BahHumbug on Jan 11, 2009

15

where the hell is info on that movie district 9? isn't that supposed to be a big summer film? haven't heard much on that. I love You Beth Cooper doesn't even deserve to be in the summer line-up... I don't know who the guy is next to seth rogen in O & R, but i predict he's gonna be ten times funnier than rogen... I said it once and i'll say it again, judd apatow rarely goes wrong, and now that he's at the helm on this one, Funny People should be a laugh out loud classic filled with brilliant stand-up material Something tells me Avatar will be a bust, just saying.... And i hope 2012 is more like the Day After Tomorrow and less like 10,000 BC... if you know what i mean

LeeMan on Jan 11, 2009

16

Can't Wait: Observe & Report Funny People Where the Wild Things Are Avatar Cautiously Optimistic: I Love You, Beth Cooper Pandorum 2012 The Princess and the Frog On top of these here, there are a bunch of movies, especially debuting at Sundance, that make 2009 look great.

Josh on Jan 11, 2009

17

I'm really curious on how we are suppose to watch the trailer for Avatar on our computers when it gets released online, if it's suppose to be in this new 3D form. Won't it just look like a regular "Center of the Earth" Trailer to us? Even when it gets released to the general audience in theaters that don't have the 3D projectors?

The_Phantom on Jan 11, 2009

18

the first Avatar set image released by Cameron was okay considering he had the shout out to Battle Angel and we had a glimpse of Worthington's character and the set...but what exactly is the point of showing the pair starring at monitors? I know it's going to be this ground breaking CGI feast, but he did shoot some live-action footage a while back..I'm sure we could be shown those stills instead of Cameron looking at a screen..it's kind of smug to release it as a Avatar image

Christopher M on Jan 11, 2009

19

I DIDN'T KNOW TERMINATOR SALVATION WAS WRITTEN BY JONATHAN NOLAN! :O

George on Jan 11, 2009

20

I saw the preview screening of Protect and Serve... it was horrible. I think it ruined Seth Rogans career... dont see it. not worth your time

DisAur8603 on Jan 11, 2009

21

I agree with #18 - No more Avatar "pictures" until there are actual photos or a clip of some footage from the film itself.

avoidz on Jan 11, 2009

22

All seem pretty exciting, with the exception of the obvious Rogan pieces of crap. Here's to you # 20! ( and I hope it does....ruin it I mean, as if he has one to the more simpleminded and officals of the inept)

Tim "Cloverfield" on Jan 13, 2009

23

Why no love for District 9? And worthless tripe that involves S. Rogen? What bloody gives?

D-9 on Jan 13, 2009

24

I did'nt know the Princess was black?

gwhizz on Jan 13, 2009

25

Most of those movies were decent. I have to admit, I have watched Princess and the Frog about 30 times. Once my daughter sees something she likes, we have to watch it over and over. But I have to admit I like it more than the classical Disney Movies. Not sure why but watching the older movies is hard to do.

Steve on May 31, 2010

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.

FEATURED POSTS

POPULAR COMMENTS

LAST YEAR'S TOP 10

Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10- 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts

FOLLOW US HERE

Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly

FS.NET ON FACEBOOK