SUNDANCE 2009

Sundance 2009 Review: Duncan Jones' Moon

by
January 16, 2009

Duncan Jones' Moon

It's very nerveracking having my third film into this festival be the one that I'm most excited to see. What if it's not that great? Will everything else here at Sundance look bleak afterwards? Thankfully that's not how it turned out, as I saw Moon today and thoroughly enjoyed it. My mind is a bit numb from the whole experience, which isn't actually a bad thing, primarily because the plot was so grueling yet engaging anyway. Moon is one of the few sci-fi features showing at Sundance this year and is a very intimate, low budget, yet fascinating film to watch. Not only does it look wonderful, but Sam Rockwell is flawless yet again.

In Moon, Rockwell plays Sam Bell, an astronaut who works alone in a mining facility on the moon. He's contracted for three years of work but as he nears the final few weeks, things start to go awry and he starts to see things. Without spoiling some of the biggest plot elements and not to ruin the experience for others, that's as much as I'll say. Other than Kevin Spacey's voice as the computer, Rockwell is really the only person in the entire film. It wouldn't make sense to say that he stole the show (given there's no one to steal it from), but if it weren't for him, this wouldn't have worked. And I mean that in more ways than one.

First-time writer/director Duncan Jones is not only heavily inspired by 2001: A Space Odyssey and Blade Runner, but delivers a uniquely invigorating sci-fi feature worth seeking out. The production design is exquisite, his style is refreshingly grim for a one-man moon movie, and most of all, his ability to direct Rockwell and bring this compelling story to life is quite impressive (as most will see once the big reveal is made). It's that combination that makes Moon work so well. But at the same time it's still a very small and intimate film that sometimes has problems connecting with its audience beyond its limited scope.

As much as I hate to say it, I think Moon is one of those films that has a niche audience and not much more. If anything I've said has gotten you excited, or even interested at all, then it's certainly a film you must see. It's unfortunate that it feels this way because I'd love for wide scale audiences to be able to appreciate what Duncan Jones has achieved (with indie special effects especially) and what Sam Rockwell is capable of. Moon is by no means a sci-fi epic, but it is gritty, dark, lightly comical, and thoroughly entertaining. It's huge a relief to know that my most anticipated film at Sundance was certainly not a let down.

Sundance Rating: 8.5 out of 10

Find more posts: Opinions, Sundance 09

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 29 Comments

1

Judging from multiple reviews, it seems like this will be picked up by a distributor. I pray to God it does, because I am a huge Rockwell fan, and cannot wait to see him in this.

Josh on Jan 16, 2009

2

Yea, when it was first being talked about on this website i was excited about it and now from this review im still excited about it. I'm definitely going to check it out when I can

Dan W on Jan 16, 2009

3

Sounds a little like Sunshine without the weird space zombies. Ohh I should get that on Blu-ray. Is there a trailer out for this yet?

Richard on Jan 16, 2009

4

oh can't wait!

cyn on Jan 16, 2009

5

I saw some clips of the movie and it does look great. But like you say it's a movie for a niche audience: the film is too slow to be mainstream.

Moon Trailer on Jan 16, 2009

6

He also happens to be David Bowie' son. So he shouldn't really have difficulty with leeching off the old man to nail some distribution.

Stylist Mick on Jan 16, 2009

7

"And I mean that in more ways than one." I take it he starts to see another version/s of himself???

OCP on Jan 16, 2009

8

dont tell me its something liek the truman show........

evilnik on Jan 17, 2009

9

i'm curious about this but i agree with #8.....no more truman show. and #3.......sunshine looks gorgeous on bluray!

dan on Jan 17, 2009

10

I greatly enjoy rockell's work.

"Red" - "Button" - "s" on Jan 17, 2009

11

Cant wait to catch this on the 24th. This is also the film that i was looking forward to the most before the festival. This and 500 days of summer. I cant wait to check this out. Rockwell is amazing and underrated.

Aequitas on Jan 17, 2009

12

I would love to see this and it sounds great!

s on Jan 17, 2009

13

*POSSIBLE SPOILER* From the Blade Runner reference, it sounds like he's got these memories of his life on Earth (Family, etc), and that he's looking forward to the end of his contract and his eventual return home... As it approaches, he begins to learn that he's merely an android and that he's replaced every 3 years - the memories are fake... just a thought, I haven't seen it but it sounds like it could be the plot.

Bogart on Jan 18, 2009

14

Reminds me of Sunshine, but sounds exciting. Wish I was there!

Ryan on Jan 23, 2009

15

Or he realises the moon he was always on, was actually the fake moon base created by NASA and US GOVT in the nevada desert back in the sixties to fake the moon landing!!!

Bushwitz survivor on Jan 24, 2009

16

Sounds a little like Sunshine without the weird space zombies.

wood burning fireplaces on Oct 1, 2009

17

Had a look at the trailer for this movie, one of the previous posts and looks very interesting I like when the robot say you must be imagining things...or something like that...when he discovers his doppelganger

Sports Flooring on Oct 4, 2009

18

Is there a trailer out for this yet?

Jule Breudo on Oct 16, 2009

19

Cant wait to catch this on the 24th. Especially about "As it approaches, he begins to learn that he's merely an android

Grooming spaniel on Nov 13, 2009

20

The main problem with on demand video services that are applications on desktop computers is getting users to download them and register

Polkase on Mar 1, 2010

21

I don't know, it just doesn't seem like something I'm going to go pay to watch. So you're probably right in thinking that the audience for it is small, because I'm a pretty versatile person. I enjoy a wide variety of entertainment... but not feeling too drawn to this. blood tests

bizbeegrl on Mar 17, 2010

22

But at the same time it's still a very small and intimate film that sometimes has problems connecting with its audience beyond its limited scope. To be honest, this movie was awesome. I love it a lot and I ate lots of popcorn while watching. I hope my belly wont be big after eating so much popcorn.

Mike Lose on Apr 14, 2010

23

I saw some clips of the movie and it does look great. But like you say it's a movie for a niche audience: the film is too slow to be mainstream. Read more: http://www.firstshowing.net/2009/01/16/sundance-2009-review-duncan-jones-moon/#ixzz0nMaLQW30

technology on May 8, 2010

24

A movie that I haven't seen yet, but I will be renting it this week! I like the targeted audience type of movies which require an open mind. I have a feeling it's going to be one of those great movies which rarely gets talked about... I just have to go rent it now to find out for myself, can't wait. Thanks for the post Dave B burn fat gain muscle

daveb on Jun 26, 2010

25

I forgot about this movie! I remember when it first came out and was going to download it and watch it on my iPod Touch on a long train ride to sydney - but it slipped my mind. Thanks for the reminder Alex!

Anthony Wakefield on Aug 23, 2010

26

HI I heard its very nice movie but missed to watch it. but watched clips. its was awesome contour abs --

AndreaK on Nov 1, 2010

27

The movie sounds interesting - I am not the biggest fan of Sam Rockwell but Duncan Jones has great vision and delivers great movies so I'll definitely watch it. Sam Cris C. Latest Blog Post : Revitol Stretch Mark Cream

revitol girl on Dec 3, 2010

28

Just watched this movie. It was awesome.

Relationship Advice on Apr 29, 2011

29

Just watched this movie. It was awesome.

Relationship Advice on Apr 29, 2011

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.

FEATURED POSTS

POPULAR COMMENTS

LAST YEAR'S TOP 10

Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10- 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts

FOLLOW US HERE

Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly

FS.NET ON FACEBOOK