Watch This: Ask a Ninja's Hilarious Review of Ninja Assassin

November 29, 2009

Ask a Ninja

Enough people saw James McTeigue's Ninja Assassin these past few days to put it at #6 on the five-day weekend chart with roughly $21 million in box office earnings. But the one person I was desperately hoping would see this is the Ask a Ninja ninja himself. And oh did he see it. Thanks to SlashFilm, his video review is now viewable below, and it's a definite must watch. I love this guy. And it couldn't be more perfect that he's reviewing Ninja Assassin, one of the only big ninja movies we've seen in a while. His review: it's awesome! But he has more to say than just that. "This is like the Saving Private Ryan for ninjas!" Watch and enjoy!

I was worried that this guy would just tear it apart (even he said that) but remarkably he loved it (surprise, surprise). Or at least he loved it as a comedy. And he's right about how they "at least tried" and did a good job making it look awesome. And I love that he doesn't even call it a real ninja movie because it was rated R and not BC-17 - "Body Count 17." The other great Ask a Ninja video we featured once before was for when he interviewed Will Ferrell for the comedy Semi-Pro (watch that here). It's one of the best interviews I've ever seen, not even kidding. I wish he'd do more of them, I love this guy, especially because he's a freakin' ninja!

Find more posts: Cool Stuff, Hype, To Watch

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 22 Comments


that wasn't hilarious

DoomCanoe on Nov 29, 2009


amusing at least. lol

dave13 on Nov 29, 2009


No? Aww, you don't love Ask a Ninja #1? 🙁

Alex Billington on Nov 29, 2009


"Who names their kid Rain!? I'm gonna name you after something who's main charastics is that it can fall down, and most people hate you and run inside when they see you, good luck Rain." Oh my god this guy is amazing. Gotta agree with Alex, the guy is just loveable, #1 laugh more!

xerxex on Nov 29, 2009


That was freaking hilarious I love that guy, and his view or reviews are the best ( His Pirates of the Caribbean 2 review is amazing)

Aaron on Nov 29, 2009


The title is funny. Ninja Ninja.

Tomb on Nov 29, 2009


He assassinates ninjas, so he's a ninja assassin. I don't think the ninjas who get assassinated find it very funny. =)

Kosugi on Nov 29, 2009


Loved it...thanks for posting, Alex. LOL!!!

Bry from Chi on Nov 29, 2009


haha.... yup. ninjtastic!

Nick on Nov 29, 2009


"He makes Stephen Chow look like Stephen Chow!" LMAO

Devon Shaw on Nov 29, 2009


from 2:15 i realized what his accent sounded like... like a brown guy... ... totally a brown accent right there. didn't know india popped out them ninjas too.

kajjang on Nov 29, 2009


Ninjas rules!!!!

Lazarus from Sparta...DETHKLOK RULES!!!!! on Nov 29, 2009


@Alex nope, i hate the style of humor and the voice annoys me. Sorry man *shrug* #4 go die! 😉

DoomCanoe on Nov 29, 2009


aw "go die" thats just cruel DoomCanoe, oh

xerxex on Nov 29, 2009


DoomCanoe's just a hater. Ask a Ninja's pure comic genius! some people just can't keep up with his witty machine-gun paced puntastic joke style. thanks for posting Alex.

Nick S. on Nov 29, 2009


Please don't feed the troll. Let him hate and cut his wrists when it's over. I never missed an episode when XBL gave him his own channel for the release of Ninja Gaiden 2 on 360. His "Ninjas Vs. Crazy People" skit is my favorite.

Cody on Nov 29, 2009


Sorry, tried to get through the first 30 seconds and couldn't stand his obnoxious voice.

Peter on Nov 30, 2009


Awsome just Enjoyed the Ninja Assassin Review it abit Toung And Cheek, some of these people who do these coments take it so serious it a martal arts film it just blokes kicking the shit out of one another. 😉

Cineprog on Nov 30, 2009


very funny, but is it me are does he sound like triumph the insult comic dog ?

Greg on Nov 30, 2009


"DoomCanoe's just a hater"... I can't disagree with ya there Nick!

DoomCanoe on Nov 30, 2009


Alex, it was 'Blades of Glory not Semi Pro? 😛 This post looks forward to killing you soon!

ChrisUK on Nov 30, 2009


Jeez, that guy is such a loser Detroit Lion. Hilarious!

A-Dog on Nov 30, 2009

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.




Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10 - 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts


Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly