REVIEWS

Review: Salt is Full of Stupid Action, Emphasis on the Stupidity

by
July 25, 2010

Salt

There's a flimsiness to Sony's new political action-thriller, Salt, a feeling that, if any of the actors stomped down hard enough on the floor, they would break the screenplay into a million, stupid, little pieces. Well - it's anything but bland. That side effect of Salt seems to have carried over from the mineral. Director Phillip Noyce, when he isn't shooting hand-to-hand combat (we'll get to that in a bit), has a keen eye for action scenery. The quick-paced editing the three editors (yes, three) bring to the table sets the perfect cadence for the brisk film, and you can't ever accuse it of boring you. That and the solidity Angeline Jolie brings to her "is she a hero or is she a villain?" character should be enough to for a recommendation. But… it's not.

And, so, we go back to the flimsiness. With an opening set in North Korea two years prior that shows CIA officer Evelyn Salt (Jolie) being held captive, you just know the foreshadowing starts with frame one. We jump ahead to the present where Salt, along with her partner played by Liev Schreiber, are working their common, boring, CIA lives. In walks a Russian defector who claims to have information about a forthcoming assassination attempt. He says a Russian spy will attempt to kill the Russian president and that that Russian spy is none other than Evelyn Salt. She runs. The CIA gives chase. Lots of property damage and quick left turns, both in terms of plot and vehicular direction, ensue.

Salt has a screenplay by Kurt Wimmer, who previously tackled the CIA agent thriller with The Recruit, wholly forgettable yet oddly familiar. That film dealt with a mole in the agency, as well, and you begin to wonder just how much time the real CIA, the one not seen in cinemas or on the USA Network, spends tracking down double agents. It seems a realistic film about the real CIA would involve watching a lot of numbers being punched into a computer and a lot of staring at a hi-def monitor. That's just me, though. I really don't have any basis to back that up.

What I've never seen, though, is a group of long coated men flashing guns running after someone, male or female, down a street. I've never seen news footage of a woman leaping from an overpass onto the back of a moving semi-truck. There's never been a report that I've come across of a prison transfer motorcade slamming around the freeway and ending with an SUV ramping off the side. But, again, that's just me, and the CIA may have a nice way of covering such news reports up.

But it's not just that Salt involves itself with completely fabricated set pieces that have little to no basis in the real world. Even with movie logic firmly instilled, the fragility of the characters in the film is staggering. No one seems to act as anyone in such a situation would act. There are instances of clear negligence even on the part of Noyce. At one point, Salt - going for that Jennifer Bourne title - is climbing from window sill to window sill far off the ground. She stops at a little girl's window and asks the girl to let her in, but there's a clear shot of a fire escape right behind her. Even if that fire escape weren't exactly right behind her (perspective may have made it seem closer than it really was), I have a good feeling this woman has a fairly good horizontal leap in her. That's something that is made clear a few moments later when said overpass-to-truck jump occurs.

It's just little things like this that are strewn throughout Salt that easily take you out of any moment the film might have had. A more engaging plot may not have allowed the audience to wander so easily, but that's not about to happen. The shadowy way Wimmer writes his characters has something to do with that.

Through the first half of Salt, we wonder whether the main character is or isn't a double agent. There are hints throughout that make us wonder about all the characters, in fact, to the point that no one seems likable. We're following Salt much of the time, and Jolie gives the performance her all, but it almost seems like she doesn't even know if she is the hero or villain of the film through much of it. By the time any revolution occurs, we're just waiting for the inevitable cop out that comes with cheaply written films where the protagonist of the story may actually be the bad guy. The cop out occurs. It's lame. There's a digital countdown and a scene wherein Jolie poses as a man that result in much unintentional laughter. We all go home dissatisfied.

Which brings us to the end of the film. Spoilers aside, it has to be mentioned the way Salt ends with this notion that there will be continuing adventures. In fact, the film cuts to black and the end credits mid-scene, leaving it completely open. In the ending itself and in the buildup to that ending, you felt it headed this way, and you begin thinking about next week's episode of this Salt TV series your subconscious knows you're not watching. A sequel doesn't even seem likely, but Wimmer, going back to that Bourne well that he didn't even dig, finds it necessary to end the film as if it's a foregone conclusion there will be.

Salt has some decent action. The extended chase sequence brings a nice level of excitement to an otherwise sterile and conventional thriller. Jolie shines, Schreiber growls, and Chiwetel Ejiofor as another CIA operative hits hard then disappears for an hour. It's not a film that is completely without merit, but when looked at from a distance you see just how made of glass Wimmer's screenplay is. It's both see-through and looks as if a well-placed rock would send it into oblivion. Stupid action fun seems to be a description reserved for Summer blockbusters, but something like Salt should have known better than to aim for it. Congratulations, Kurt Wimmer. Your movie is stupid. It's full of action. But it's not that much fun. Sometimes, two out of three is pretty bad.

Jeremy's Rating: 4.5 out of 10

Find more posts: Opinions, Review

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 21 Comments

1

so was Jolie the only good thing here? and what about Ejiofor and Schreiber? Did they do a good job? Jolie for some reason has a lot a haters...seems kinda unwarranted to be honest, I mean have they not see Changeling? she was superb in that! I figured this movie would fall flat, not because of the actors but the plot seemed kinda weak.

Xerxex on Jul 25, 2010

2

I don't hate Jolie -- just the movies she's in

[A] on Jul 25, 2010

3

movie definitely fell flat for me, can't believe Ebert gave this four stars and 2 thumbs up. guess he just loves his conservative patriotic political bs.

lego on Jul 25, 2010

4

for me jolie is WAAAAAAAAAAY to overated

gfdgd on Jul 25, 2010

5

ok so i completely agree with you on everything, except for your one comment about how she stops at the little girls house instead of going down the fire escape. I'm pretty sure she stopped there to drop off her pet dog and to change her clothes safely.

XXOO on Jul 25, 2010

6

Thanks You Jeremy..I thought i was the only one who felt the movie was pretty below par. I think Angelina Jolie looked too skinny for this role and Ejiofor and Schreiber were not giving more screen time. Check out my review here. http://www.talkingfilms.net/review-salt-lacks-a-bit-of-sugar

Prem on Jul 26, 2010

7

I actually want to see this for the dialogue and acting and not the action scenes.

filmfan111 on Jul 26, 2010

8

this movie was NEVER on my radar to begin with.........all the stunts happening in the trailers were too preposterous. unless it comes to "instant-watch" on netflix - i'll never see it.

beavis on Jul 26, 2010

9

i actually expected something with angelina jolie so dominantly featured on it to be a bit more substantial than just unrealistic building jumps etc.After reading this review,I've had my expectations toned down a bit,and it won't hurt to wait a couple weeks before watching this.

twispious on Jul 26, 2010

10

Not that i hate the movie but i would say its a so-so, another spy conspiracy yada yada movie. Expected more from it actually. Check it out on http://www.ovstream.com/action/salt-2010/

mike on Jul 26, 2010

11

when i dont compare it to any other movie i have ever seen on the planet...its ok...

Jericho on Jul 26, 2010

12

This movie was great! Angelina was absolutely believable in this Bad Ass Woman Spy Alpha Female Role as she always is. Yes you had to have a suspension of disbelief BUT my audience was applauding through the film. We gasped, we clapped, we rooted and for that 1 and a half hours we were in another place at another time and we were glad we spent out 9 dollar matinee price to be there! SO if you want a fun ride and you like seeing women kick ass....EVELYN SALT is who you need to meet!

Icy on Jul 26, 2010

13

Wow. I've seen a lot of hate towards this movie and I don't get it. I guess a lot of people are sick of Angelina Jolie. I thought the movie was awesome. Believe me, I get bored of so-called brainless action movies (Transformers, GI Joe, etc) but I thought the pacing of this movie was fantastic - Ebert compared it to Run Lola Run. I might even compare it to (dare I say it?) Die Hard 1. Was it a smart movie? Heck no. But I wouldn't call it dumb either. Without giving anything away, you knew what happened to the Russian at least a half hour before it was revealed, but you didn't know why. Is she an agent - a double agent - a triple agent? I highly recommend it (after seeing Inception, of course).

Leroy Skibone on Jul 26, 2010

14

Loved this review! It perfectly summed up the disappointment known as the movie Salt. I went in with reasonable expectations and was completely let down. It was predicatable from beginning to end, but revealed its secrets as if they were big revelations. The characters were flimsy, and though Jolie gave it her best, the environment was not condusive to anything extraordinary. It definitely wasn't the worst movie I have seen, but it fell completely short of what I consider a "good" movie. Maybe had I not seen it within a week of Inception, which has replaced the Matrix as my new all time favorite movie, I wouldn't be as harsh.

Matthew Guzman on Jul 28, 2010

15

Action movies and preposterousness ultimately go hand in hand quite well nowadays so that seems to be not an automatic axe to grind the flick with.

Bizy Though on Aug 18, 2010

16

I'll be seeing it when it opens here – I will decide what I think of it then.

Trag Lee on Aug 19, 2010

17

"At one point, Salt - going for that Jennifer Bourne title - is climbing from window sill to window sill far off the ground. She stops at a little girl's window and asks the girl to let her in, but there's a clear shot of a fire escape right behind her. Even if that fire escape weren't exactly right behind her (perspective may have made it seem closer than it really was), I have a good feeling this woman has a fairly good horizontal leap in her. That's something that is made clear a few moments later when said overpass-to-truck jump occurs. It's just little things like this that are strewn throughout Salt that easily take you out of any moment the film might have had" Hmmm... Jeremy, I guess you didn't notice that the reason she opted to ask the little girl to let her in (instead of taking the fire escape route) was that she'd be able to leave Burt(the dog) in good care?

jeffm on Nov 20, 2010

18

This movie is I guess for the under 30 crowd that has never heard the line, "I've been set up! I've been framed". While shouting those famous lines, listen to the break in Jolie's voice, it makes it all that more ridiculous. Recycled mish-mash, different person, that's all. Really folks, hardly worth an honorable mention here.

SAJiggyfly1 on Jan 26, 2011

19

The ending is retarded! The US Pres would absolve her of any wrong doing since Ted Winter told him he was a Russian spy after killing everyone around him. Salt saves the Pres and avoids nuclear war. Hero.... end of story. Why is no one talking about this????

Blas on Mar 1, 2011

20

This movie was so predictable, with the spider and shit, stupid Movie

Drogba on Sep 4, 2011

21

Salt is s stupid movie. It is a joson bourne wonna be that falls flat on its face. After watching the movie i was left with a bad taste in the mouth of having been made a fool of . sucks !

Pnongori on Dec 6, 2011

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.

FEATURED POSTS

POPULAR COMMENTS

LAST YEAR'S TOP 10

Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10- 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts

FOLLOW US HERE

Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly

FS.NET ON FACEBOOK