TGB Episode 43: A Year in Preview 2011 (Guest: Marco Cerritos)

January 6, 2011

The Golden Briefcase

On this first 2011 episode of The Golden Briefcase, Tim and Jeremy are joined by friend of the site and writer Marco Cerritos from good ole FirstShowing (read his stuff here) to go through their latest Picks of the Week, the newest in DVD & Blu-Ray releases, a few new trailers for Kevin Smith's Red State and Natalie Portman's new emotional drama The Other Woman and much more! The main topic of the night was a 2011 Preview in Movies! The guys go over some of what they are most excited for and talk in general about the upcoming film year. From Rango to Captain America to Battle: LA to The Beaver - they cover everything!

The Golden Briefcase is also broadcast LIVE on Tuesday nights starting at 7:30PM (PST). You can listen in via our Ustream page or by visiting our own live page right here on FS. The podcast is just as fun to listen to live while it's being recorded, with plenty of special guests, so I suggest you tune in the next time it records!

Download #43 or Listen Now:
[audio:|titles=TGB Episode 43: A Year in Preview 2011 (Guest: Marco Cerritos)|artists=The Golden Briefcase]

Subscribe via: RSS RSS or RSS iTunes

Our Guest:

Marco Cerritos: @BigDumbMale

Picks of the Week:

Jeremy: Shutter Island
Marco: Sundance Film Festival 2011
Tim: Solomon Kane

DVD/Blu-Rays Discussed:

The Last Exorcism

Segment Times:

Picks of the Week: 7:17
New Releases: 25:40
Trailer Watch: Red State: 40:36
Trailer Watch: The Other Woman: 53:11
Main Topic: 2011 Movie Preview: 57:15

The Golden Briefcase is:

Tim Buel:
Jeremy Kirk:

Live Page:

Voicemail Line:


Any and all feedback, compliments, topic discussions, contest entries and hate mail can be sent directly to We would LOVE to hear from you! Thank you for listening to the show.

Find more posts: Golden Briefcase, Podcasts

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 10 Comments


who's the samurai with the chaingun and what film is it from? thanks. =)

Nick S. on Jan 7, 2011



Northernism on Jan 7, 2011


Thanks man, that's that new Snyder film-right? Looks, erm... interesting.

Nick S. on Jan 7, 2011


Aw I was going to tell him... "why don't you listen and find out?" Nah, he's right, it's from Sucker Punch. Haven't you seen the trailer?!? It's badass!!

Alex Billington on Jan 7, 2011


how you talk about Shutter Island is how I felt about Nolan's "the Prestige", the first time I was watching for all the hints and I didn't get into the emotion of the movie until the second viewing.

John I.G. on Jan 7, 2011


Also could you guys make a list of all those things you mentioned at the end, because you run through them all so fast I missed most of them.

John I.G. on Jan 7, 2011


All the 2011 films mentioned on the show in order: Rango Haywire Contagion Tree Of Life Super 8 Drive Source Code 30 Minutes Or Less Your Highness Moneyball The Adjustment Bureau Suckerpunch Winnie The Pooh The Muppets Fright Night Hugo Cabret Thor Captain America Cowboys & Aliens Insidious Scream 4 Piranha 3DD The Thing The Ward Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 2 Real Steel X-Men: First Class Sherlock Holmes 2 The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo The Adventures Of Tintin War Horse J. Edgar I'm With Cancer Jeff Who Lives at Home The Raven Battle: Los Angeles Jane Eyre The Rum Diary The Beaver The Roommate Trespass Priest Stake Land We Bought a Zoo

Jeremy Kirk on Jan 7, 2011


I regret not putting "Young Adult" and "Triple Frontier" on my list. 🙁

Boxoffice Marco on Jan 7, 2011



A5J4DX on Jan 8, 2011


Great show as usual! You guys always have an interesting and informative opinion on films. Marco was a good guest but his mircrophone drove me insane, every few seconds it would bump something or digitize his voice.

Catieh5 on Jan 11, 2011

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.




Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10 - 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts


Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly