COOL STUFF

Hitchcock's 'The Ring' Restoration To Be Live-Streamed Free Online

by
July 9, 2012

The Ring

Psycho. The Birds. Rear Window. North By Northwest. Every film geek knows the major works of Alfred Hitchcock, but have you ever seen 1927's The Ring? It's Hitchcock's fourth film, and while it's never quite been considered a classic, the silent film was an influence on Martin Scorsese when he directed Raging Bull awhile back. The Ring stars Carl Brisson and Ian Hunter as two boxers who battle for the love of the same woman, played by Lillian Hall Davis. For those not heading to Comic-Con this year, you can check this out for free since the film is getting the online live-stream treatment on Saturday, July 14th. More below!

Here are a few stills from Alfred Hitchcock's influential film The Ring:

Alfred Hitchcock's The Ring -

Alfred Hitchcock's The Ring -

Alfred Hitchcock's The Ring -

A website called The Space is hosting the live-stream, and you can bookmark the page right now to prepare for the upcoming show. But here's the catch. Because the live-stream is happening at 20:00 GMT on Friday, July 13th, that means it's actually airing at 6:00am EST/3:00am PT on Saturday, July 14th. I know, I know. But it's a newly restored version of the movie, plus it features a live score played by renowned jazz musicians the Soweto Kinch Band. Still, this is only going to be enough to alter the sleep schedules of absolute die-hard Hitchcock fans, but we figured we'd pass the word along in case that happens to be you. Of course, we'll be deep in trenches of Comic-Con bringing you all the film updates from Hall H and beyond, but if you get a chance to check this out, drop back by here and let us know how it was in the comments section! Cool?

Find more posts: Cool Stuff, To Watch

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 9 Comments

1

This is actually available to watch for free on YouTube's movie channel.

Bill Hickock on Jul 9, 2012

2

Ring is not one of Many Masterpieces of King of Suspence & Thrillers , but still great and definitely worth watching. Question is , when do be born another Hitchcock ?

Ehsan Davodi on Jul 9, 2012

3

great film.. one of Hitchcock's best early films

johnny on Jul 9, 2012

4

Watch it here legally. http://archive.org/details/TheRing.

ccoltmanm on Jul 9, 2012

5

Your time conversion is wrong .... 20:00 GMT Friday == 16:00 EDT Friday. That's 4 PM Eastern Time, 1 PM Pacific. If people follow your instructions they will MISS the live stream!!!

Edward Curtis on Jul 10, 2012

6

Actually, I think that's 3pm EDT and 12pm Pacific. 5 hours' difference.

Pterry on Jul 11, 2012

7

It would be 5 hours difference if we were NOT in Daylight Saving Time. Since we are in DST, it's 4 hours.

Edward Curtis on Jul 11, 2012

8

Right, of course. When I think of GMT I default to UK time, which is a silly mistake, since they participate in DST. Apologies.

Pterry on Jul 11, 2012

9

By this clock http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/ it is currently 9:06 PM GMT. That's 4 hours ahead of Eastern Daylight Time.

Edward Curtis on Jul 11, 2012

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.

FEATURED POSTS

POPULAR COMMENTS

LAST YEAR'S TOP 10

Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10 - 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts

FOLLOW US HERE

Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly

FS.NET ON FACEBOOK