Watch: A Four-Minute 'Super Preview' for 'The Amazing Spider-Man'

May 14, 2012
Source: YouTube

The Amazing Spider-Man

We've already seen some impressive trailers for the comic book film reboot The Amazing Spider-Man from director Marc Webb, but tonight on NBC, the latest premiere of more reality competition garbage "America's Got Talent" brought a four-minute "super preview" of the summer blockbuster hitting theaters on July 3rd, just in time for a big holiday weekend. If you haven't been convinced that this new franchise is something completely different from Sam Raimi's trilogy with Tobey Maguire, this should convince you and get you pretty damn pumped. It's action-packed, a bit dark but still fun, and hits all the sweet spots. Enjoy!

Here's the four-minute super preview for Marc Webb's The Amazing Spider-Man, found on YouTube:

Peter Parker (Andrew Garfield) finds a clue that might help him understand why his parents disappeared when he was young. His path puts him on a collision course with Dr. Connors, his father's former partner.

Sony's The Amazing Spider-Man features Garfield as Peter Parker, Emma Stone as Gwen, Martin Sheen as Uncle Ben, Sally Field as Aunt May and Denis Leary as George Stacy. 500 Days of Summer director Marc Webb is at the helm of this Spider-Man reboot, from a screenplay written by Alvin Sargent (Sam Raimi's Spider-Man 2 & 3), Steve Kloves (Harry Potter movies) and James Vanderbilt (The Rundown, Zodiac, The Losers). Sony/Columbia is bringing The Amazing Spider-Man to theaters in 3D on July 3rd this summer.

Find more posts: Hype, To Watch, Trailer

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 44 Comments


Not gonna lie. This looks a lot better than I thought it was gonna be.  But spiderman is still a gay superhero, the Hulk is still and always be the best.

Antonio on May 14, 2012


I'm sorry intelligence and finesse offends you so much.

Phillip Gockel on May 15, 2012


I laughed.

Tyler Hayes on May 24, 2012


That's why your dad likes him so much.

Gianni Persello on May 15, 2012



Flash5050 on May 14, 2012


Looks like Sony's marketing team is getting desperate.  

Big Boss Bob on May 14, 2012


How is this desperate? The movie doesn't even come out until July. It's not like it's the week of release.

Ethan Anderton on May 14, 2012


 I guess because they keep showing more 'n more footage, but Prometheus are doin that too... along with everyone else. Less of a case of desperation than self-control issues. I wouldn't tell a secret to somebody in marketing, that's for sure

Richie G on May 15, 2012


Batman did the same thing. They showed the entire opening scene. Was that desperate, or are studios just trying to get people really excited?

Shawnlancekeim on May 23, 2012


The lizard looks like really bad cgi

Tpatchin2 on May 14, 2012


If you figure this footage was compiled at least 2 months before release, it's entirely likely that they're still finishing some rendering. I remember the same thing happening for The Hulk, a commercial a month or two before release made him look like a green action figure with Ed Norton's face glued on because it used older incomplete footage.  Personally, I'd be shocked if they took an 8-figure Hollywood budget and didn't think to make the main villain as amazing looking as technologically possible.

Waffles on May 14, 2012


Sony Imageworks, the kings of the unfinished CGI. Remember Green Lantern.

Manuel on May 15, 2012


And the bad CGI in all three Spider-Man films. All they do look plastic.

Ryderup on May 15, 2012


You noticed that the CG lizard dude was CG, but what about the multiple shots in the bridge sequence that were 95% CG?

Squiggly_P on May 15, 2012


I enjoyed how they tried to make the beginning of the trailer, with the chimes and noise, just like TDKR trailer. And then they ruined it with some dubstep crap.

John on May 14, 2012


They should have cut before he pulled the kid from the car, it would have been more suspenseful, but other than that it's a pretty solid preview. I can't wait to watch this in July!

Matthew South on May 14, 2012


Ugh...dubstep....other than that I'm looking forward to it!

Chris Amaya on May 14, 2012


The CGI looked REALLY cheaply done. And the movie looked pretty boring. Ah well. Another failed spidey movie.

Spideyfails on May 14, 2012


A highly anticipated film? Sure. This summer's "most anticipated" film? Batman says, "How did the Joker get out of Arkham this time?."

t0tallyrad on May 14, 2012


What kind of 4 minute trailer was that?? Seemed like a director's cut of the 3rd trailer which in my opinion was better, ha.

BinaryChaos on May 14, 2012


Was really amazing the movie is gonna do great....

Flash5050 on May 14, 2012


No JJJ i will pass

Gfh on May 15, 2012


It's not quite a Spiderman movie without JK Simmons, but this appears to take place before he tries to make ends meet at the Daily Bugle.

Stavi on May 15, 2012


 Daily Bugle is now equivalent to Fox News in the movie since no body reads print media anymore. Which is a change I like hope to see JJJ still

Steven Morgan on May 16, 2012


nothing looks real in this trailer

Fgh on May 15, 2012


Does anyone remembers Green Lantern's schedules problems with the CGI. Sony Imageworks is no ILM. This looks pretty bad.

Manuel on May 15, 2012


they seem to have captured Spidey`s essence, feels much more like the Spider-man I read and grew up with

Loser on May 15, 2012


The special efx looked cheap as hell.

Big Rob on May 15, 2012


Looks a lot like the one that we just saw. But the car scene was cool.

Jackmooney9 on May 15, 2012


 Still kinda want to punch Garfield in the face a bit. In that car thief scene, when you want him to sound like a sarcastic smart ass, he just comes off as whiney

Richie G on May 15, 2012


A bit...but I still think he sounds better than Maguire.

Greg on May 15, 2012


Agree. Both are whiny though...

Ryderup on May 15, 2012


I will go see it, I find it stupid though that they choose to release it around TDKR. IT would be more wise to bring it out in another time slot because by the time this comes out everyone will only be thinking about TDKR which would be about 2 weeks away.

? RiDdlER ¿ on May 15, 2012


ehhh... i disagree. its one thing if two movies are released in the same week. a 2 week separation..well actually, i think 17 days, is kind of alot of time. Im pretty sure most people who are movie goers and like both Spider-man and Batman will just watch both of them near opening day.  Just by the end of July, i feel sorry for any other movie that is coming out between July 1st and August 1st. Box office will be bombarded by these two.

O_black on May 15, 2012


I really tried and tried but I simply cannot get excited for this movie.  First, it seems like such an unnecessary remake/reboot/whatever which looks just about all the previous movies.  Second, this CGI-love-fest just doesnt cut it for me any longer, there is no weight nor depth to any of it and it is completely overdone.. I have and always love Spidy, but I may wait till a "cheaper" option of this movie comes along to finally view it.

Tester on May 15, 2012


... he said about the plot after not having seen more than a 4 minute preview...

Phillip Gockel on May 15, 2012


I do not follow, I never mentioned the plot.

Tester on May 16, 2012


What 4 minutes of super preview??? Bull I tell you BULL it wasn't even 4 min if anything it was about 3:40 mins and there are parts in there that have already been shown :(, I hope that is not the final rendering for the lizard 

redskulllives on May 15, 2012


I was waiting for the drop? When did the 'Step drop? I was wanting to point in the air and dance like I was on valium. I'll be watching Spiderman when it comes on tv if there's nothing better on.

Crapola on May 15, 2012


I wish I wouldn't have watched that, it showed way too much.

peloquin on May 15, 2012


Looks good...but from what I've seen so far it doesn't hold a candle to Prometheus and Dark Knight Rises

Geoffrey Shauger on May 15, 2012


looks good to me. definately watching it early around opening.  Can't really compare it to Dark Knight though. Dark Knight showed very little, and hence far more suspenseful.  That plus Dark Knight is a very different type of movie with alot less action filled bells and whistles that are going to be found in Spider-man. going to be an interesting thing to watch in the box office.

O_black on May 15, 2012


 Also the fact that dark knight is the end of a movie series and Spider Man is the beginning

Steven Morgan on May 16, 2012


Hahaha everyone is posting about not going to see this movie for whatever reason, but the truth is that anyone taking their "precious" time to state their ever-so-important opinion will be at the theaters seeing some web slinging. ...forgive Webber for giving us the true Spidey origins story. What was he thinking?

Point break on May 20, 2012

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.




Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10 - 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts


Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly