North Korea Files Complaint with United Nations Over 'The Interview'

July 11, 2014
Source: THR

The Interview

The teaser trailer for The Interview didn't really bring the laughs we were hoping for from the sophomore directing efforts of Seth Rogen & Evan Goldberg. But it certainly wasn't bad enough to be banned from being seen. But if you're North Korea, we supposed we can understand that sentiment since the film is about a talk-show host and his producer (played by James Franco and Rogen respectively) who land an exclusive interview in North Korea with their leader Kim Jong-un, but then are approached by the CIA to kill the dictator. THR has quotes from an actual letter sent to the United Nations by North Korea complaining about the film, calling it "an act of war" and demanding the United States to ban it. Read on!

Reuters originally got ahold of the letter from North Korea's U.N. ambassador Ja Song Nam which says:

"To allow the production and distribution of such a film on the assassination of an incumbent head of a sovereign state should be regarded as the most undisguised sponsoring of terrorism as well as an act of war.

The United States authorities should take immediate and appropriate actions to ban the production and distribution of the aforementioned film; otherwise, it will be fully responsible for encouraging and sponsoring terrorism."

Of course, we know how the U.N. deals with North Korea thanks to Team America: World Police:

There are probably some people who aren't fans of Seth Rogen who might say the same thing, but this is all just a gross over-reaction from a country run by a tyrannical brat. North Korea first complained about the film at the end of June, but this is the first official complaint that has been registered with the United Nations, proving that North Korea isn't going to stop bitching about it anytime soon. North Korea’s Foreign Ministry even said, “If the U.S. administration connives at and patronizes the screening of the film, it will invite a strong and merciless countermeasure.” Is there even the remote chance that the film could end up being shelved because of these threats to the United States? We certainly hope not. If all goes well, The Interview will still hit theaters this fall on October 10th. Thoughts?

Find more posts: Hype, Movie News

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 22 Comments

1 Shut up you stupid little nation, Here is a UK made movie about the assassination of the US president, we didn't cause an uproar. If anything, ban the movie on the fact that it looks awful.

Higgens on Jul 11, 2014


Oh yes a comedy movie with the majority of the target audience most likely to be stoners is definitely an immediate threat to national security.

Stephen Ritchie on Jul 11, 2014


As long as Rodman is in the states we wont have to worry about him threatening us with WMD's

Rock n Rollllll on Jul 11, 2014


We'll make sure to file that in the "U.S. dont give a shit" folder.

Rock n Rollllll on Jul 11, 2014


More like "The rest of the sane world (including China) don't give a shit" folder. Also they apparently didn't get the memo, Seth Rogen is Canadian. But I suppose I could forgive them of that mistake.

Splattergrunt on Jul 11, 2014



Xerxexx on Jul 11, 2014


HAhahahahah this is best news ever! Cant wait to see it! 😉

Sascha Dikiciyan on Jul 11, 2014


it would actually be crazy if james franco and seth rogen started a war!

alex james on Jul 11, 2014


Sounds like the plot to a semi-sequel/alternate reality to This is The End :O

Neuromancer on Jul 11, 2014


just imagine if they actually killed the fucking guy!

Astroboy3000 on Jul 15, 2014


He is a joke maker.

DAVIDPD on Jul 12, 2014


Actually no, this movie is in pretty bad taste. North Korea has every right to be offended. Films like Death of a President are obviously different, as they dont blatantly insult world leaders and it was not realized during a time of international tension between the UK and the US, like there is between North Korea. Yeah, North Korea is kind of nuts, and its leadership is out of control, but it is really distasteful in my opinion to make a movie that insults a world leader and even portrays an assassination attempt of him during a time of friction. As someone who has studied both North Korea and film in a formal setting, I think I can speak authoritatively on this. Also, if you know any north korean history, you would understand that so much of the reason WHY north korea is the way it is, is because of oppression from other countries. while that was obviously a more extreme form of oppression, so much of North Koreas actions have been in an attempt to reclaim cultural legitimacy and be taken seriously as a country, and further demeaning them is counterproductive to possibly beginning to reclaim a relationship with them down the road. One last thing, i dont think many americans know much of anything about North Korea, its leadership, its people, or why it is the way it is, so please, dont make sweeping generalizations about koreans or its leaders before you know what you are talking about.

jay on Jul 12, 2014


Telling people to not make sweeping generalizations while making sweeping generalizations about the very same people, classy.

Brian Sleider on Jul 12, 2014


This, and also, how is this any different than a thriller where the villains attempt (or succeed) to assassinate a head of state? Did they complain about White House Down or Olympus has fallen?

JT on Jul 13, 2014


Very different. The US does not have hostile feelings towards the UK like North Korea does for America (I hope you can see why that would make a big difference), and Death of a president does not stereotype and demean an entire culture in the way this film does.

jay on Jul 12, 2014


It is a movie about killing the leader of said country. It is a fair analogy, so what if their tiny country is infantile in they way they act on the global stage, that doesn't give them a pass. And of course a comedy movie is going to poke fun at its subject matter in a way a drama does not.

Brian Sleider on Jul 12, 2014


This was probably the kind of free publicity they were hoping for. Good for them. I look forward to this film.

DavideCoppola on Jul 13, 2014


Oh no!! A complaint filed at the U.N.!! Whatever shall we do!! Damn you Rogan!! I knew somehow you'd be the end of us all you... you... terrorist!!

avconsumer2 on Jul 13, 2014


What about Olympus Has Fallen? They didn't care about that movie did they?

steve on Jul 14, 2014


Kim jong I'll didn't seem to give a shit about Team America so his son should show some amount of consideration towards this

syntaxterror on Jul 14, 2014


Kim Jong il probably didn't see it. Dyouy have any idea how fukking bizy he iz?

Astroboy3000 on Jul 15, 2014


as busy as his son is now. surely his advisers advised him on this in the midst of all his oppressing and whatnot

syntaxterror on Jul 15, 2014

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.




Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10 - 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts


Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly