MOVIE TRAILERS

Watch: Olympics Preview for Angelina Jolie's New Movie 'Unbroken'

by
February 16, 2014
Source: YouTube

Unbroken First Look

"To persevere, I think, is important for everybody. Don't give up, don't give in…" This actually looks damn good. In connection with the ongoing Winter Olympics, Universal (part of NBC) has debuted an extended 3-minute "preview" for the new Angelina Jolie-directed movie Unbroken. The story is actually about an Olympian, one Louis "Louie" Zamperini, played in this (once he's older) by Jack O'Connell, who, along with two other crewmen, survived in a raft for 47 days after a near-fatal plane crash in WWII—only to be caught by the Japanese Navy and sent to a prisoner-of-war camp. This trailer plays like a full TV promo, with voiceover and the real Zamperini making an appearance, but it's effective. I'm hooked, I want to see it.

Here's the first Olympics Preview for Angelina Jolie's Unbroken, direct from Universal on YouTube:

Additionally, a few photos of Angelina Jolie working on set directing the film. Photos are from Universal.

Angelina Jolie's Unbroken

Angelina Jolie's Unbroken

Angelina Jolie's Unbroken

Angelina Jolie (who last directed In the Land of Blood and Honey) directs Unbroken as her sophomore filmmaking effort, also producing the film which has a script from William Nicholson (Les Misérables) and Richard LaGravenese (Behind the Candelabra), later rewritten by Joel and Ethan Coen and based on Laura Hillenbrand's best-selling novel. The will to push through any obstacle, the drive to not give into defeat. The epic drama that follows the incredible life of Olympian and war hero Louis Zamperini (O’Connell) who, along with two other crewmen, survived in a raft for 47 days after a near-fatal plane crash in WWII—only to be caught by the Japanese Navy and sent to a prisoner-of-war camp. Domhnall Gleeson (About Time) also stars. Universal will release Jolie's Unbroken starting on December 25th, 2014, Christmas Day, this year.

Find more posts: To Watch, Trailer

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 19 Comments

1

At the very least, it looks to be very well shot. The little dialogue that was heard was quite good as well, the radio bit... I'm incredibly excited for this. Hopefully it's as good as it's made out to look.

Greg dinskisk on Feb 16, 2014

2

A lot of potential for this one.

DAVIDPD on Feb 16, 2014

3

Cheese.

Carpola on Feb 16, 2014

4

Douche

Charlie Hard on Feb 17, 2014

5

Douché. With the amount of WW2 movies that have came out, you'd think sending all those young men to die was the greatest thing we've ever done.

Carpola on Feb 18, 2014

6

You sir are a moron.

Charlie Hard on Feb 18, 2014

7

Thanks

Carpola on Feb 18, 2014

8

Looks so dramatized.

Damon King on Feb 16, 2014

9

Who would have thought the story of a WWII POW would be dramatic? (rolls eyes)

Charlie Hard on Feb 17, 2014

10

SPOILER ALERT: He is still alive and who gives a shit.

Damon King on Feb 18, 2014

11

my Aunty Amelia got a new blue Land Rover LR4 only from working part time off a home computer... helpful hints C­a­s­h­D­u­t­i­e­s­.­ℂ­o­m

kandy830 on Feb 17, 2014

12

Written by Joel and Ethan Coen? I'm in for that alone.

daletv on Feb 17, 2014

13

All jews should die

Damon King on Feb 18, 2014

14

Thank god, I thought it wasn't going to mention the Coen bros

Llewyn Davis on Feb 17, 2014

15

Yawn. Another sad attempt at making the US look like anything but the fascist, imperialist, monster that it is. I'm sorry but the US was not the "Good guy" during WWII. They lied about the Holocaust and attacked Japan without warning. The US is pure evil and I refuse to watch a movie make that tries to portray them as anything but racist, fascist, pigs.

Damon King on Feb 18, 2014

16

Attacked Japan without warning?! HAHAHA, do you know what Pearl Harbor is?

Jordan on Mar 17, 2014

17

JORDAN:- PEARL HARBOR happened when there were war between America & Japan but then the war was over and AMERICA dropped the nuclear bomb on Hiroshima and Nagasaki although the war was over causing so many damage on the japanies people IF you are an american i am sorry but (DAMON) is right this is the true AMERICA isn't that good sorry again but she never made anything good ever and when i say AMERICA I MEAN her GOVERNMENT,POLITICIANS AND PRESIDENTS not the people at first i thought all Americans but i met some of them and figurout that no people are actually nice sometimes crazy haha.but nice let's go back to the first.if you saw what america did in IRAQ AFGANISTAN VITNAM AND NOW SYRIA you will see how many children have become Orphans,how many men and women they kiiled and how damage they did to their countries all that for what and please don't tell because they had weapons and these things they tell you on TV because they never say the truth.the truth is right in front of your eyes all you need to do is to open them search,hear,listen and think don't let them tell you what to think you have to teach yourself how to think not what to think my dear friend that is the difference between us and animals we have brain only if we use it right.sorry for lengthening hope you understand

Sara Ahmed on Mar 17, 2014

18

Well said! Please send your resume to me so I can fit you into my staff as a speech writer and advisor.

PresidentO'Bobo on Jul 6, 2014

19

i am with you on that but you know the story of the man himself is inspirational i mean let's forget that this is america that he is fighting for if you were fighting for your country and fall in the hands of the enemy and still have the courage to fight alone to not allow them to enslaves you to free your self to become a man with a goal from a silly little kid for me that is something worth my watch not because america or anything the man him self said at the end of the trailer if you watched "that everybody must not give up" nothing impossible 😉 ^~^

Sara Ahmed on Mar 17, 2014

Sorry, no commenting is allowed at this time.

FEATURED POSTS

POPULAR COMMENTS

LAST YEAR'S TOP 10

Alex's Top 10 - 2017
1. Call Me By Your...
2. War for Apes
3. Shape of Water
4. Florida Project
5. Dunkirk
6. Jane
7. Foxtrot
8. Faces, Places
9. Never Really Here
10. Thelma
Click Here for Thoughts

Jeremy's Top 10- 2017
1. mother!
2. Lady Bird
3. A Ghost Story
4. The Big Sick
5. Dunkirk
6. Get Out
7. Killing Sacred Deer
8. John Wick 2
9. War for Apes
10. The Beguiled
Click Here for Thoughts

FOLLOW US HERE

Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly

FS.NET ON FACEBOOK