SEARCH RESULTS

Sundance Video Review: David Michôd's Animal Kingdom

http://www.firstshowing.net/2010/sundance-video-review-david-michods-animal-kingdom/
January 31, 2010

David Michod's Animal Kingdom

A few days ago we featured the first teaser poster for David Michôd's Animal Kingdom, one of my favorite Sundance films that I saw a week ago during the first half of the fest. Also a few days ago, while working at our condo, Dave Chen from SlashFilm decided to record a video discussion of Animal Kingdom involving anyone who had seen the film (which included me, our own Brandon Lee Tenney, and Dave Chen himself). You can watch that video review below but in addition to that we've got a quick written review from Brandon as well (below). Watch this if you want to know why Animal Kingdom is one of the best films of the fest!

Sundance Video Review: Taika Waititi's New Film 'Boy'

http://www.firstshowing.net/2010/sundance-video-review-taika-waititis-new-film-boy/
January 25, 2010

Taika Waititi's Boy

Another new Sundance video review. It's just vastly easier to record video reviews of some films, which is why we have so many of them. This time Alex talked with Peter from SlashFilm about New Zealand director Taika Waititi's new film Boy. Both Peter and I were big fans of Taika's Eagle vs Shark a few years back and had high hopes for Boy. It's a good film but I don't think it's as great as Eagle vs Shark and it runs a little long. It's got some good performances but I didn't love it. Watch the trailer for it here. If you're interested in hearing our quick thoughts on the film, watch our 4-minute video review below. And sorry it was so dark!

Sundance Video Review: Spike Jonze's Short Film 'I'm Here'

http://www.firstshowing.net/2010/sundance-video-review-spike-jonzes-short-film-im-here/
January 23, 2010

Spike Jonze's I'm Here

The first film that most people, including our own Brandon Lee Tenney, saw at Sundance this year was actually a short film on Thursday night. Included in the Shorts Program I (which featured three other good short films) was Spike Jonze's I'm Here, a 31 minute short about robot love. We ran a trailer for the film earlier this week and have been talking about it lot because it's getting great buzz. After seeing the short, Brandon recorded a video review of I'm Here with Peter Sciretta and David Chen of /Film and also Erik Davis from Cinematical. For those interested in hearing their thoughts on Spike's short, watch the video.

Sundance 2011: Fun Video Review of 'The Greatest Movie Ever Sold'

http://www.firstshowing.net/2011/sundance-2011-fun-video-review-of-the-greatest-movie-ever-sold/
January 24, 2011

Morgan Spurlock from The Greatest Movie Ever Sold

A few days ago I posted my written review of Morgan Spurlock's awesome new Sundance documentary The Greatest Movie Ever Sold, a film that I absolutely loved, but I want to keep talking about it just because it deserves more exposure. So much so, that I've decided to also post this video review that Peter & Germain from SlashFilm recorded with me one morning while waiting in line for another movie. Because the film is all about product placement, and is officially sponsored by and titled "POM Wonderful Presents," we had a lot of fun recording and talking about the doc. It's worth watching in addition to my review, so check it out!

Sundance 2011: Video Review of Ed Helms Comedy 'Cedar Rapids'

http://www.firstshowing.net/2011/sundance-2011-video-review-of-ed-helms-comedy-cedar-rapids/
January 24, 2011

Cedar Rapids

That was super awesome! The last world premiere we attended last night at Sundance 2011 was for Fox Searchlight's newest comedy Cedar Rapids, directed by Miguel Arteta, and starring Ed Helms as a small town insurance agent who takes the first trip of his life to the "big city" of Cedar Rapids. It also stars John C. Reilly, Anne Heche, Isiah Whitlock Jr. and Alia Shawkat. It's a hilarious film wrapped around a rather sweet story about friendship and morality, but I didn't love it that much. After the screening Peter of SlashFilm, FS.net's Ethan and I recorded a quick video blog talking about our thoughts on the film. Fire that up below!

Sundance 2011: Video Review of Evan Glodell's Crazy 'Bellflower'

http://www.firstshowing.net/2011/sundance-2011-video-review-of-evan-glodells-crazy-bellflower/
January 22, 2011

Evan Glodell's Bellflower

One of the first feature films we (both Ethan and I) saw at Sundance 2011 was an "apocalyptic love story" titled Bellflower, named after the street it mostly takes place on in LA. It's written, directed by, and stars, Evan Glodell, who was also responsible for building props and vehicles in the film, including a Mad Max inspired flame-spitting car and homemade flamethrower. It's a story about a guy who meets a girl and their subsequent break-up but told through an apocalyptic and visually-stylistic lens, literally meaning they used homemade cameras and old lenses. Watch a video review that Peter from /Film, Ethan & I recorded below.

Sundance 2011: Video Review of James Marsh's Doc 'Project Nim'

http://www.firstshowing.net/2011/sundance-video-review-project-nim/
January 21, 2011

Project Nim

Our very first film of the 2011 Sundance Film Festival was the newest documentary from James Marsh, the Oscar winning director of the documentary Man on Wire. It's called Project Nim and tells the story of Nim Chimpsky (seen above), the chimpanzee who in the 70's was raised from birth by humans and taught sign language as an academic experiment at Columbia University. It's a fascinating story and both thrilling and heartbreaking, so after the first screening, Ethan and I recorded a video blog with our quick thoughts on the opening night film. We recorded this last night before heading to sleep, but it's still a good quick review.

Sundance 2010 Video Review: Jason Spingarn-Koff's Life 2.0

http://www.firstshowing.net/2010/sundance-2010-video-review-jason-spingarn-koffs-life-20/
January 25, 2010

Life 2.0 Review

Yet another video review courtesy of SlashFilm featuring our own Brandon Lee Tenney. This time he talks about Life 2.0, a documentary playing at Sundance about the virtual online world of Second Life. Directed by first-time feature filmmaker Jason Spingarn-Koff, the doc follows a group of four people whose lives are dramatically transformed by the virtual world - reshaping relationships, identities, and ultimately the very notion of reality. Brandon is also joined in the video by Peter of SlashFilm and Laremy Legel of Film.com. It seems like they all had mixed reactions to the film. Watch the full Life 2.0 Sundance video review below.

Sundance 2010 Video Review: The Duplass Brothers' Cyrus

http://www.firstshowing.net/2010/sundance-2010-video-review-the-duplass-brothers-cyrus/
January 24, 2010

Duplass Brothers' Cyrus

The Duplass Brothers' new film Cyrus premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. Almost everyone I know was at the screening, including our own Brandon Tenney. The Duplass Brothers have premiered many of their short films and their last two features, The Puffy Chair and Baghead, at Sundance previously, but this was the first year that their film has ever played in the biggest Eccles Theater. Dave and Peter of SlashFilm recorded a video review of Cyrus with Brandon after the premiere last night. In short, they all loved it, even Brandon, and all had great things to say. Cyrus is pretty much a knock out of the park. Watch these below!

Must Watch: Sundance Favorite 'The Diary of a Teenage Girl' Trailer

http://www.firstshowing.net/2015/must-watch-sundance-fave-the-diary-of-a-teenage-girl-trailer/
May 26, 2015

The Diary of a Teenage Girl

"I refuse to be some sniveling crybaby, this is my life!" Yay! Sony Pictures Classics has debuted the official trailer for one of other favorite Sundance 2015 films, this one being The Diary of a Teenage Girl, the big breakout debuts of both director Marielle Heller and actress Bel Powley. Both of them are amazingly talented! Bel Powley stars as Minnie in an adaptation of Phoebe Gloeckner's book, about the coming-of-age story of a kick ass, free-spirited girl living in San Francisco. The cast includes Alexander Skarsgård, Kristen Wiig and Christopher Meloni. This is such a great film, and it comes highly recommended from all of us who saw it at Sundance - here's our review. And the trailer doesn't give away too much! Take a look.

Watch: First Teaser Trailer for Sundance Comedy Sensation 'Dope'

http://www.firstshowing.net/2015/watch-first-teaser-trailer-for-sundance-comedy-sensation-dope/
March 26, 2015

Dope

"Allow me to re-introduce myself…" One of our favorite films from the 2015 Sundance Film Festival is coming to theaters this summer, and one of the coolest teaser trailers I've ever seen has just arrived to show it off. Dope delivers the perfect teaser in that it doesn't give much away about the story, but quickly introduces us to the characters and their style. Plus, it immerses you wonderfully in the culture of the 90s, which runs rampant throughout the film despite the fact that it's sent in modern day. This is a star-making turn for Shameik Moore, and if you need anymore convincing, read Alex's Sundance review. Watch now!

Cinema in the Cold - We're Ready to See Films at Sundance 2015

http://www.firstshowing.net/2015/cinema-in-the-cold-were-ready-to-see-films-at-sundance-2015/
January 22, 2015

Sundance Film Festival

It's time. We've packed our winter jackets, long underwear, a pair of boots and gloves/hats galore. The 2015 Sundance Film Festival is about to kick off in the mountains up in chilly Park City, Utah and we're back, ready to fire up the festival and watch films. This is FirstShowing's ninth year in a row covering Sundance. It all started back in 2007, when I made the trek to Park City by driving from Colorado, seeing an impressive 31 films by the end of my first year. I've returned here ever since; I can't help it, I love this festival with all my heart and have grown to appreciate films of all kinds by coming back every year. And I'm ready for more.

Video Interview: 'The Rover' Director David Michôd on His Two Films

http://www.firstshowing.net/2014/video-interview-the-rover-director-david-michod-on-his-two-films/
June 12, 2014

Director David Michôd Interview

"It feels important to me that the specificity of the world be known." At the 2014 Cannes Film Festival, one of my most anticipated films was David Michôd's The Rover, his follow-up to the Sundance 2010 breakout Australian film Animal Kingdom, one of my favorites that year which lead me to first interview him back in 2010. He's back and it was time to talk about his second film and what lead him to this one, starring Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson. Excerpt: "I've always wanted to be a part of the big world of of it, it just felt so important to me the second [film], that I controlled it, that I consolidated something rather than making one movie, and people getting excited, and me just losing control of my career." Watch in full below.

Time to Start the Show! We're Back in Indie Heaven at Sundance 2014

http://www.firstshowing.net/2014/time-to-start-the-show-were-back-in-indie-heaven-at-sundance-2014/
January 16, 2014

Sundance 2014

We're back! Let's start the show! FirstShowing has returned to the 2014 Sundance Film Festival up in chilly Park City, UT for 10 days of the best in independent cinema. This is my 8th year in a row attending Sundance; I'm a veteran by now, yet I'm still so happy to be back. I genuinely love this fest and everything about it. From the snow to the town itself to the people/friends to the screening venues to the films and staff and volunteers and everyone/everything else inbetween. There's nothing like it, and I'm always anxious to arrive and start seeing films, hoping to discover multiple gems that deserve to break out to larger audiences.

FEATURED POSTS

POPULAR COMMENTS

OUR FAVORITES

Alex's Top 10 of 2014
1. Mommy
2. Whiplash
3. Force Majeure
4. Selma
5. The Overnighters
6. Blind
7. John Wick
8. Snowpiercer
9. The Imitation Game
10. Birdman
Click Here for Thoughts

Ethan's Top 10 of 2014
1. Wild
2. Boyhood
3. Whiplash
4. Guardians / Galaxy
5. The LEGO Movie
6. Gone Girl
7. Life Itself
8. Birdman
9. The Raid 2
10. They Came Tgthr
Click Here for Thoughts

FOLLOW US HERE

Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the news posts only, follow this acct:
Add our feed to your Feedly: follow us in feedly

FACEBOOK + LINKS