Sundance 2008 Official Winners Announced

January 26, 2008
Source: indieWIRE

Sundance 2008 Official Winners Announced

The end is near… or is the end here? Either way, the official award winners of the 2008 Sundance Film Festival have been announced. The big winners are Trouble the Water for Grand Jury Prize, Documentary and Frozen River for Grand Jury Prize, Drama, two movies I never saw or heard much buzz about at all. However, The Wackness took the Audience Award prize this year and I am more than happy that it got some awards mention. Another upset was Sleep Dealer, a movie I did not like at all, that won the screenwriting award and technology award. Read on for the complete list of Sundance winners!

Thanks both to Cinematical and indieWIRE for helping out with the up-to-the-minute coverage of the awards ceremony. Audience awards are listed at the very bottom.


Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Frozen River, directed by Courtney Hunt

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
Trouble the Water, directed by Tia Lessin and Carl Deal

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
The King of Ping Pong, directed by Jens Jonsson

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
Man on Wire, directed by James Marsh

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Blue Eyelids, directed Ernesto Contreras

Special Jury Prize for Spirit of Independent Cinema:
Anywhere, USA, directed Chusy Haney-Jardine

Special Jury Prize for Work by an Ensemble Cast:
Sam Rockwell, Anjelica Huston, Kelly MacDonald and Brad Henke for Choke

Special Jury Prize, Documentary:
Greatest Silence: Rape in the Congo, directed by Lisa F. Jackson

Excellence in Cinematographcy, Dramatic:
Lol Crawley for Ballast

Excellence in Cinematography, Documentary:
Phillip Hunt and Steven Sebring for Patti Smith: Dream of Life

Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award:
Alex Rivera and David Riker for Sleep Dealer

Independent Film Competition, Directing, Dramatic:
Lance Hammer for Ballast

Independent Film Competition, Directing, Documentary:
Nanette Burnstein for American Teen

Independent Film Competition, Editing, Documentary:
Joe Bini for Roman Polanski: Wanted and Desired

The Alfred P. Sloan prize for a feature film with science as a theme, or featuring a scientist or mathemetician main character, was awarded to The Sleep Dealer, directed by Alex Rivera. As the winner of the Alfred P. Sloan prize, the film receives a $20,000 award.

Jury Prize in International Short Filmmaking:
Soft, directed by Simon Ellis

Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking:
My Olympic Summer, directed by Daniel Robin
Sikumi (On the Ice), directed by Andrew Okpeaha MacLean


Audience Award, Dramatic:
The Wackness, directed by Jonathan Levine

Audience Award, Documentary:
Fields of Fuel, directed by Josh Tickell

World Cinema Audience Award, Dramatic:
Captain Abu Raed, directed by Amin Matalqa

World Cinema Audience Award, Documentary:
Man on Wire, directed by James Marsh

My congratulations go to all the winners and especially The Wackness! Until Sundance next year…

Find more posts: Awards, Hype, Indies, Sundance 08



for shame; we saw frozen river. it was very very good. but, in over all originality, cinematography, and depth of execution it did not hold a candle to either pheobe in wonderland or hamlet 2.

donna gross on Jan 26, 2008


Did you get a chance to see Transsiberian? And if so, are you going to review it? Curious about that one.

brian on Jan 27, 2008


No, unfortunately I missed Transsiberian. And I really wanted to see it!! I'll definitely catch it whenever it comes to theaters, hopefully...

Alex Billington on Jan 28, 2008

New comments are no longer allowed on this post.



Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:

Follow Alex's main account on Twitter:

For only the latest posts - follow this:

Add our posts to your Feedlyclick here

Get all the news sent on Telegram Telegram