Sundance Film Festival 2010 Awards Officially Announced

January 30, 2010
Source: indieWIRE

Sundance Film Festival 2010

The official awards for the 2010 Sundance Film Festival were announced tonight at a ceremony in Park City. The big winner this year is HappyThankYouMorePlease, taking home the coveted Audience Award, but there are plenty of other big winners as well. As expected, the juries made some odd choices, and this year no one thought Sympathy for Delicious or Obselidia should've won anything (but they did). Anyway, these awards always start to put the finishing touches on yet another Sundance, which means things are winding down. You can see the full list of winners below. Audience Award winners can be found at the bottom.


Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Winter's Bone, directed by Debra Granik

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
Restrepo, directed by Tim Hetherington & Sebastian Junger

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Animal Kingdom, directed by David Michôd

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
The Red Chapel (Det Røde Kapel), directed by Mads Brügger

The Best of NEXT:
Homewrecker, directed by Todd Barnes & Brad Barnes

Special Jury Prize, Documentary:
GasLand, directed by Josh Fox

Special Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Sympathy for Delicious, directed by Mark Ruffalo

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary:
Enemies of the People, directed by Rob Lemkin & Thet Sambath

Excellence in Cinematography, Dramatic:
Zak Mulligan for Obselidia

Excellence in Cinematography, Documentary:
Kirsten Johnson & Laura Poitras for The Oath

Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award:
Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini for Winter's Bone

Excellence in Directing, Dramatic:
Eric Mendelsohn for 3 Backyards

Excellence in Directing, Documentary:
Leon Gast for Smash His Camera

Excellence in Editing, Documentary:
Penelope Falk for Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work

The Alfred P. Sloan prize for a feature film with science as a theme, or featuring a scientist, engineer, or mathematician main character, was awarded to Obselidia, directed by Diane Bell, at this year's Sundance.


Audience Award, Dramatic:
HappyThankYouMorePlease, directed by Josh Radnor

Audience Award, Documentary:
Waiting for Superman, directed by Davis Guggenheim

World Cinema Audience Award, Dramatic:
Contracorriente (Undertow), directed by Javier Fuentes-Leõn

World Cinema Audience Award, Documentary:
Wasteland, directed by Lucy Walker

Congratulations to all of this year's winners, especially HappyThankYouMorePlease! I suggest everyone keep their eye on the Audience Awards winners, as they're the ones that you'll want to see. As always, you can find all of our coverage from the 2010 Sundance Film Festival right here. Until Sundance next year!

Find more posts: Awards, Opinions, Sundance 10



I've only seen three of the above films but I enjoyed them all (Waiting For Superman, Sympathy For Delicious, HappyThankYouMorePlease). Fun festival this year.

Andrew on Jan 30, 2010


WTF no KStew movies!!!!WTTR should have won something

pissedoff on Jan 30, 2010


Karen Schmeer the winner of best Editor killed last night, a fucking car driving from a burgulary ran her over, I wonder if the news will affect Sundance at all?

Xerxex on Jan 30, 2010


I can't believe that Welcome to the Rileys did not win.. This festival sucks!! not sure how they pick the winners but I was sure this great movie would win something... WTF!! Oh well whatever!!! I guess I won't even bother with this festival next year... it is well dumb

wow really pissedoff on Jan 31, 2010

New comments are no longer allowed on this post.



Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:

Follow Alex's main account on Twitter:

For only the latest posts - follow this:

Add our posts to your Feedlyclick here

Get all the news sent on Telegram Telegram