'Gravity' & '12 Years a Slave' Tie to Win 2014 Producers Guild Awards

January 20, 2014

Producers Guild Awards

Well this is going to shake up the awards world. Sasha Stone of Awards Daily already flipped out on Twitter. The 2014 Producers Guild Awards were announced tonight, and the top winner was actually more of top winners. Alfonso Cuaron's Gravity and Steve McQueen's 12 Years a Slave tied to win the Producer of the Year Award, which is something unprecedented and unexpected for these kind of awards, but it's a big sign that the Oscars are going to be quite interesting. In addition, Soderbergh's Behind the Candelabra won for long-form television, along with Disney's Frozen winning for animation. Documentary pick below.

Here's a list of all the film winners from the 25th PGA Awards - for more (including TV) visit The Wrap.

Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award:
Gravity (tie)
Producers: Alfonso Cuarón, David Heyman
12 Years a Slave (tie)
Producers: Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner

PGA Producer of the Year Award in Animation:
Producer: Peter Del Vecho

PGA Producer of the Year Award in Documentaries:
We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks
Producer: Alexis Bloom, Alex Gibney, Marc Shmuger

This is a very odd and somewhat unexpected set of winners (except for Frozen) for 2013, but I'm happy for everyone. The entire set of 10 nominees included Her, Nebraska, Saving Mr. Banks, and The Wolf of Wall Street, but not Inside Llewyn Davis. This news will certainly throw off all the Oscar prognosticators, since American Hustle won SAG's Best Ensemble, and now two movies have won this, but it might bode well for 12 Years in the end. Congrats to all of the winners - including the doc, which I loved and recommend.

In 1990, the Producers Guild held the first-ever Golden Laurel Awards, which were renamed the Producers Guild Awards in 2002. Richard Zanuck and Lili Fini Zanuck took home the award for Best Produced Motion Picture for Driving Miss Daisy, establishing the Guild’s awards as a bellwether for the Oscars. Last year, the PGA awarded Ben Affleck's Argo with its Darryl F. Zanuck Outstanding Producer Award, marking the sixth consecutive year the Producers Guild has presaged the Motion Picture Academy’s choice.

Find more posts: Awards, Movie News

1 Comment


FROZEN is a clear winner. Much love.

DAVIDPD on Jan 20, 2014


Brain melt.

Isildur_of_Numenor on Jan 20, 2014

New comments are no longer allowed on this post.



Subscribe to our feed -or- daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main account on twitter:
For the latest posts only - follow this one:

Add our updates to your Feedly - click here

Get the latest posts sent in Telegram Telegram