'Gravity,' 'The Grandmaster' & Five Other Films Land 2013 ASC Nods

January 8, 2014

ASC Awards / The Grandmaster

After winning last year's American Society of Cinematographers award for his stunning work on Skyfall, director of photography Roger Deakins has been nominated again for the 28th Annual ASC Awards honoring cinematography for films in 2013. Joining Deakins and his nominated work on the thriller Prisoners is Sean Bobbitt for 12 Years a Slave, Barry Ackroyd for Captain Phillips, Philippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster, Emmanuel Lubezki for Gravity, Bruno Delbonnel for Inside Llewyn Davis, Phedon Papamichael for Nebraska. It's surprising that American Hustle and The Wolf of Wall Street were left out of this race, but it was clearly a competitive year since a three-way tie led to seven nominees.

What's truly impressive is that this marks Deakins' 12th nomination for the ASC Award after being previously winning for The Shawshank Redemption and The Man Who Wasn't There, and getting nominated for Fargo, Kundun, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, No Country for Old Men, The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, Revolutionary Road, The Reader and True Grit. Deakins already has the Lifetime Achievement award from ASC, so he can really only keep racking up nominations as long as he remains working. Papamichael on the other hand hasn't been nominated in 17 years, so that's cool, and Bobbitt and Le Sourd have never been nominated. We're pretty sure this award should go to Lubezki, but we'll see when the winner is announced February 1st.

Find more posts: Awards, Movie News


No comments posted yet.

New comments are no longer allowed on this post.



Subscribe to our feed -or- daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main account on twitter:
For the latest posts only - follow this one:

Add our updates to your Feedly - click here

Get the latest posts sent in Telegram Telegram