'Grand Budapest Hotel' & 'Imitation Game' Take 2015 WGA Awards

February 15, 2015

2015 WGA Awards

With just one week to go until the 87th Academy Awards, the Writers Guild of America has chimed in with the winners of the 2015 WGA Awards. Last year, the top honors in film resulted in Her and Captain Phillips taking home the original and adapted screenplay awards with Stories We Tell taking home the documentary screenplay honors. Last night, it was Wes Anderson winning Best Original Screenplay for the caper The Grand Budapest Hotel and Graham Moore for Best Adapted Screenplay for his work on The Imitation Game, the real-life story of code cracker Alan Turing, based on Alan Turing: The Enigma.

Anderson beat out fellow original screenplay nominees like Richard Linklater for Boyhood, E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman for Foxcatcher, Dan Gilroy for Nightcrawler and Damien Chazelle for Whiplash. Don't forget that the latter film in this category is considered an original screenplay by the WGA even though The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences categorized it as an adapted screenplay (for which it was nominated) because Chazelle shot a short film to help get the feature made, and it was entered at Sundance before the feature version debuted at the festival.

As for the Best Documentary Screenplay award, that went to Brian Knappenberger for the compelling doc The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz. Knappenberger beat out John Maloof & Charlie Siskel for Finding Vivian Maier, Mark Bailey & Kevin McAlester for Last Days in Vietnam and Gabe Polsky for Red Army. There were only four total nominations in the documentary category this year, which seems like a waste when one more worthy film could have been nominated, but that's the way it goes. If you want to see all the winners, including honored TV series like "True Detective," the full list is right here.

As far as these winners go, it's tough to say if this will be the way The Academy votes when the Oscar winners are announced on Sunday, February 22nd. That's because Birdman was ineligible in the Best Original Screenplay category for the WGA Awards, but it's nominated in that category for the Academy Awards. The same can be said for The Theory of Everything in The Best Adapted Screenplay cateogry. Why? Because the WGA restrictions on script awards are far more strict and rigorous than the Oscars, and because neither film was covered by a WGA or affiliate guild agreement, neither was eligible. So we'll have to wait and see how the writing awards pan out when the Oscars are handed out in a week.

The 87th Academy Awards take place on Sunday, February 22nd at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood with a live telecast airing on ABC starting at 7PM (EST) / 4PM (PST). This year's ceremony is being hosted by entertainer/actor Neil Patrick Harris. The full list of 2015 Academy Awards nominees is right here.

Find more posts: Awards, Movie News



Props to Anderson for the win. He really is a great writer.

DAVIDPD on Feb 16, 2015


You have a pay~pal. because you can create an extra 300 a week in your revenue just working from home for 5 hours every day.. check out this►►►►►,..........

thomasjaction27 on Feb 16, 2015

New comments are no longer allowed on this post.



Subscribe to our feed -or- daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main account on twitter:
For the latest posts only - follow this one:

Add our updates to your Feedly - click here

Get the latest posts sent in Telegram Telegram