Alejandro G. Iñárritu & Alex Garland Win 2016 Directors Guild Awards

February 7, 2016
Source: DGA Awards

Alejandro G. Iñárritu & Alex Garland

This is an awards season unlike any other. Last night, the 68th DGA Awards were held in Los Angeles and for the second year in a row, Alejandro G. Iñárritu won the top prize in feature filmmaking. Iñárritu won the DGA Award last year for directing Birdman, and won this year for directing The Revenant, which is still playing in theaters nationwide. Iñárritu won over industry favorites George Miller (of Mad Max: Fury Road) and Adam McKay (of The Big Short). Both of these guys could've/should've won and it would've been just as worthy. In addition to Iñárritu's, writer-turned-filmmaker Alex Garland won the inaugural award for Best First-Time Director for Ex Machina, which is the best new addition to the DGA Awards this year.

The winners of the Directors Guild of America Outstanding Directorial Achievement Awards for 2016 were announced on Saturday, February 6th, during the 68th Annual DGA Awards Dinner at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles. You can check out the full list of last night's winners, which also includes other honors for directing for television series and commercials, at the official DGA website right here.

2016 Directors Guild Awards

This year, Alejandro G. Iñárritu and The Revenant beat out Tom McCarthy for Spotlight, Adam McKay for The Big Short, George Miller for Mad Max: Fury Road and Ridley Scott for The Martian. In the brand new category, Alex Garland and Ex Machina won over newcomers Fernando Coimbra for A Wolf at the Door, Joel Edgerton for The Gift, Marielle Heller for The Diary of a Teenage Girl, and László Nemes for Son of Saul. Honestly, all of these are deserving winners and above all it's great to see them even recognized with nominations. This could be a year where The Academy goes wild and chooses something we weren't expecting for Best Director and Best Picture - since awards have been all over. We'll just have to wait and see what happens when the 88th Academy Awards air on Sunday, February 28th, live on ABC.

The previous six winners of the Directors Guild Award include: Alejandro González Iñárritu for Birdman, Alfonso Cuarón for Gravity, Ben Affleck for Argo, Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist, Tom Hooper for The King's Speech, and Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker. They have been giving this award out since 1948.

Find more posts: Awards, Movie News

1 Comment


I still think SPOTLIGHT will snag that Oscar. // That is great for Garland. I am excited for whatever comes next.

DAVIDPD on Feb 7, 2016

New comments are no longer allowed on this post.



Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:

Follow Alex's main account on Twitter:

For only the latest posts - follow this:

Add our posts to your Feedlyclick here

Get all the news sent on Telegram Telegram