'Spotlight' & Adam McKay's 'The Big Short' Win Writers Guild Awards

February 14, 2016

Writers Guild Awards - Adam McKay - The Big Short

With just a few weeks left until the 88th Academy Awards, the Writers Guild of America has announced the winners of the 2016 WGA Awards. Last year, the big WGA winners were The Imitation Game, written by Graham Moore, and Grand Budapest Hotel, written by Wes Anderson, with The Internet’s Own Boy: The Story of Aaron Swartz winning for Best Documentary. What have fellow writers determined to be the best scripts of 2015? This year's top prizes go to Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy for writing Spotlight, as well as to Charles Randolph and Adam McKay for writing The Big Short. Tough break for Aaron Sorkin.

Surprising to see these two films winning over the other nominees, but they're also excellent films, so I can't complain. The other nominees for Best Original Screenplay were: Bridge of Spies, written by Matt Charman and Ethan Coen & Joel Coen; Sicario, written by Taylor Sheridan; Straight Outta Compton, written by Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff; and Trainwreck, written by Amy Schumer. The other nominees for Best Adapted Screenplay were: Carol, written by Phyllis Nagy; The Martian, written by Drew Goddard; Steve Jobs, written by Aaron Sorkin; and Trumbo, written by John McNamara (which also won the Paul Selvin Award honoring Free Speech). It's likely we'll see The Big Short and Spotlight win at the Oscars, too.

As for the documentary side of things, Alex Gibney won Best Screenplay for Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief, which first premiered at Sundance in 2015. The other documentary nominees were Being Canadian, written by Robert Cohen; Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck, written by Brett Morgen; and Prophet's Prey, written by Amy J. Berg. Seems like they're missing a few good ones in this category, but not much to do about that now. For the full list of winners from the 2016 Writers Guild Awards, including all the television and animation awards, visit the website. Congrats to all of this year's winners.

Find more posts: Awards, Movie News

1 Comment


Awesome. Kind of surprising. McKay is getting his due.

DAVIDPD on Feb 14, 2016

New comments are no longer allowed on this post.



Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:

Follow Alex's main account on Twitter:

For only the latest posts - follow this:

Add our posts to your Feedlyclick here

Get all the news sent on Telegram Telegram