REVIEWS

Review: 'Deadpool 2' is More of the Same & That's Mostly a Good Thing

by
May 16, 2018

Deadpool 2 Review

After playing an ill-conceived faux-Deadpool in 2008’s X-Men Origins: Wolverine, Ryan Reynolds spent years petitioning 20th Century Fox to give the beloved Marvel character the raunchy, irreverent big-screen treatment he deserves. He succeeded. In February 2016, Tim Miller's Deadpool debuted with the biggest R-rated opening of all time. It would go on to become the highest-grossing R-rated film in history with a global box office of more than $750 million in total. A hit with both moviegoers and critics alike, Deadpool's massive success made a sequel inevitable, but does Deadpool 2 live up to the enormous expectations of its rabid fan base, or does it do to sequel cinema what Limp Bizkit did to music in the late '90s?

Directed by "One of the Guys Who Killed the Dog in John Wick" (David Leitch, of John Wick and Atomic Blonde), the film stars Reynolds (of Green Lantern and R.I.P.D.) as foul-mouthed mercenary Wade Wilson a.k.a. Deadpool, a disfigured mutant with accelerated healing abilities who looks like Freddy Krueger face-fucked a topographical map of Utah. When he isn't dismembering crime syndicates, Wade hangs out with his pals Blind Al (Leslie Uggams), Dopinder (Karan Soni) and Weasel (T.J. Miller) and lives in erotic bliss with his girlfriend Vanessa (Morena Baccarin), who he hopes to make a baby with someday soon.

Meanwhile, Colossus (Stefan Kapicic) wants to reform the exceedingly violent Deadpool and make him an X-Man. Decked out in a mesh crop-top football jersey that says "X-Men Trainee" on the back, Wade suits up and joins Colossus, Negasonic Teenage Warhead (Brianna Hildebrand) and her girlfriend Yukio (Shioli Kutsuna) to rescue an emotionally disturbed mutant kid, Russell (Julian Dennison, of Hunt for the Wilderpeople), who has the psionic ability of pyrokinesis. You know, like Drew Barrymore in Firestarter. Needless to say, things don't go smoothly.

Deadpool 2 Review

Complicating matters is the arrival of Cable (Josh Brolin), a time-traveling mutant cyborg sent back in time to kill Russell before he becomes the deadly mutant terrorist known as Firefist. Don't worry about Cable's backstory; it's convoluted and of little consequence to the proceedings. All you need to know is that he's the Terminator meets Winter Soldier, with a touch of Thanos. Kicked out of the X-Men but woefully outmatched against Cable, Deadpool assembles his own mutant militia: the X-Force. The team includes the lucky Domino (Atlanta's Zazie Beetz), the acid-vomiting Zeitgeist (Bill Skarsgård of It), Bedlam (Terry Crews), and Shatterstar (Lewis Tan). Oh, and Peter (Rob Delaney), a mustachioed man with no powers or abilities whatsoever; he just responded to an ad.

That's really all I'll say about the film's plot – there's a lot of surprises and gags that shouldn't be spoiled. Deadpool does all the things you expect him to do, mocking everyone from Fox's X-Men franchise, including Logan, to the Marvel Cinematic Universe and the dark and aggressively angsty DC Extended Universe. Screenwriters Rhett Reese & Paul Wernick, along with Ryan Reynolds, craft a raunchy, action-packed screenplay that's heavy on choreographed chaos, zippy one-liners, and fourth-wall breaks that even Ferris Bueller would envy. Unfortunately, it's light on story and even lighter on character development. If you loved the first Deadpool movie, you'll no doubt enjoy this one, but if you were hoping to see a sequel that surpasses the original, you might be a little underwhelmed.

Despite being underutilized, Brolin and Beetz nearly steal the movie right out from under Reynolds, whose steady barrage of jokes can often get in the way of the storytelling. The first film had a lot of heart, and there's still some of that here, but something's missing. I didn't emotionally connect with the characters the way I did before. I guess what I'm trying to say is that this movie doesn't make me feel the way Foreigner felt when they wrote, "It Feels Like the First Time." Don't get me wrong; I'm not saying Deadpool 2 is terrible – I liked it a lot – but I can't bring myself to love it. I don't want to harsh anyone's buzz; there are plenty of laugh-out-loud moments and extremely satisfying character beats, but it also feels like a stock Fox X-Men film with an overblown budget and needless CGI-heavy action scenes that add little to the story.

Deadpool 2 Review

I'm a big fan of David Leitch – I friggin' loved Atomic Blonde – and I can totally see why Reynolds thought his action sensibilities would be a perfect fit for Deadpool 2, but I have to believe that the secret ingredient to the first film's success was Tim Miller. Miller left the project in October 2016 due to creative differences with Reynolds, and that's too bad because what Reynolds gained in control of the character he was born to play, he lost in a visionary director capable of capturing lightning in a bottle. Leitch does a more than adequate job, I mean it's not like this is The Crow: City of Angels or anything, but it feels like he was too busy choreographing balls-out action sequences to make us care about the characters caught in the middle of all that manufactured mayhem.

Who even knows if we get a Deadpool 3 at this point – the movie will be successful enough to warrant to a third dip into the pool (see what I did there?) but the proposed/ongoing acquisition of Fox by Disney makes me wonder what the future holds for the X-Men franchise. I'd love to see more of Reynold's Deadpool, but I don't think the character has the same shelf life as Hugh Jackman's Wolverine. Can we handle 11 Deadpool movies? Would we want to? I don't know, but I look forward to Drew Goddard's X-Force follow-up, which focuses on Deadpool, Domino, and Cable. Hopefully, the director of The Cabin in the Woods can add some new dimension to these characters before they get stale.

One last note: my two favorite things about this movie are the opening credits and the post-credits scene. Take that as you will. Honestly, I kind of wish the movie was just a two-hour music video for Céline Dion's "Ashes." Goddamn you, Céline, you French-Canadian angel. You truly are the songbird of a generation.

Adam's Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Follow Adam on Twitter - @AdamFrazier

Find more posts: Marvel, Review

Discover more around the web:

Reader Feedback - 8 Comments

1

Pretty much the same? No surprise. Personally, I am excited to see how they use Domino. She seems OP in a hilarious way.

DAVIDPD on May 16, 2018

2

She's definitely one of the stand-outs, really almost the MVP of the movie - would like to see more of her in future films.

Adam Frazier on May 17, 2018

3

Same type of funny with better 4th wall breaks. Tries to be a bit of a superhero movie but everyone once in awhile it gets yanked back into what made the original great. Brolin makes a better Cable than he does a Thanos.

tyban81 on May 16, 2018

4

that's really saying something because he was flawless perfection as Thanos

DanielShaw on May 16, 2018

5

I would say there's certainly potential there for him to be a great Cable - if someone writes him a part that requires him to do more than punch stuff. I think he could absolutely carry a standalone film - he gives a great performance even though he's barely in it. Brolin has so much more to work with as Thanos, but the potential is there.

Adam Frazier on May 17, 2018

6

I think there is character development. The first film was kind of a straight forward revenge story. This one shows the consequences of revenge. Don’t want to spoil too much but you can definitely see how Wilson changes from who he was in the beginning to what he is at the end while still keeping his personality. Cable gets a bit more than I though he was getting but I can see your point, same with Domino, but it’s ultimately Wilson’s story. It’s simple but I found it to be effective as much as it can.

Bloost on May 18, 2018

7

Saw it last night and had such a good time in the cinema. I was worried that it wouldn't be able to match the first one and was concerned at the news of the first director and Ryan parting ways. I agree with the reviewer that I didn't connect as much with Wade as I did in the first. There was a moment when he was being tortured by Francis that the endless banter faltered and I genuinely felt for the guy. Maybe though that is what you get from an origin story and not from a sequel. However, the script for this was a non stop riot. It reminded me of the first 30 mins of Guardians 2 before it ran out of steam and descended into an over indulgence of CGI. In Deadpool 2 though the quality of writing, sharp wit and sarcasm just kept on coming and by the end I was almost exhausted from the laughing and entertainment. Different to Infinity Wars but still a wonderfully entertaining film. I concede that it might be a bit baggier than the tighter (and shorter) first film but I felt it matched and maybe even surpassed it for sheer content and entertainment.

Payne by name on May 23, 2018

8

I found with boxxy software all movies which this director made and watched it with subtitles. Great!

Richárd Henrik on Sep 10, 2018

Sorry, new comments are no longer allowed.

FEATURED POSTS

POPULAR COMMENTS

LAST YEAR'S TOP 10

Alex's Top 10 - 2019
1. Parasite
2. Last Black Man SF
3. The Lighthouse
4. Marriage Story
5. The Specials
6. Blinded by Light
7. Long Shot
8. Uncut Gems
9. For Sama
10. A Beautiful Day
Click Here for Thoughts

Adam's Top 10 - 2019
1. Parasite
2. Once Upon a Time
3. Avengers: Endgame
4. The Farewell
5. Knives Out
6. Rise of Skywalker
7. Peanut Butter Falcon
8. Little Women
9. 1917
10. The Irishman
Click Here for Thoughts

FOLLOW US HERE

Subscribe to our feed or daily newsletter:
Follow Alex's main profile on twitter:
For the latest posts only, follow this acct:

Add FS to your Feedly updates: click here